Strong Criminal Defense Forged By
Over 20 Years Of Experience

Underage DUI charges in Florida

On Behalf of | Jul 20, 2023 | DUI |

Getting a DUI in Florida is a situation that needs to be taken very seriously. This is as true if you are a minor or an adult. The penalties for minors are usually lesser, especially if they are addressed to a first offense.

What are the penalties you may receive?

DUI convictions for people under the age of adulthood can vary according to the circumstances. For example, if you are under 21 and have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of under 0.02%, your license can be suspended for six months. There are usually no fines, time in jail, or other penalties to expect.

If you are under 18 and your BAC is under 0.02%, you can also expect your license to be suspended. This will normally be for a period of six months. You will usually not receive any fines or jail time. However, you may be required to enroll in an alcohol education program.

The situation may be different if you are under 21 with a BAC of 0.08% or more. You may receive a license suspension that lasts from 6 months to a year. You may receive a fine of anywhere from $500 to $1,000. You may also receive a jail term of up to six months and 50 hours of court-ordered community service.

The penalties listed above constitute the absolute minimum that you may receive. They also reflect the usual penalties that may be handed down for a first offense. A judge can add fines, longer license suspensions, or longer jail terms as they deem fit.

What are the penalties for further offenses?

DUI arrests for a second or third offense result in higher penalties. A second DUI may result in your license being suspended for a full year.

If your BAC is above 0.05%, you may undergo a substance abuse evaluation. You will be required to enroll in a treatment course. If your BAC is at 0.08% or higher, you can be charged as an adult in order to receive the corresponding penalties.