Florida, like all other states, has its own set of laws governing traffic violations. It has a points system that affects drivers licenses, and this is how it works.
Purpose of Florida’s point system
The purpose of Florida’s point system is to ensure that all drivers follow the rules of the road and obey traffic laws. Any motorist who fails to abide by the rules and violates traffic laws will receive points against their license based on the specific offense. Over time, if a driver amasses a certain number of points, it could result in penalties including a license suspension.
Points gained in the point system are harsher depending on the specific traffic violation. For example, getting into a car accident and fleeing the scene equates to six points.
Points for violations
The point system results in different points against a license based on the violation. Points range in severity; the higher the points, the more serious the violation and the more likely it is to result in harm to others.
You can get three points against your driver’s license for speeding under 15 miles per hour over the legal speed limit, failing to yield to pedestrians, littering, careless driving and improperly using child restraints.
Violations worth four points against a license include speeding more than 15 miles per hour over the legal speed limit, reckless driving and failing to yield to a school bus.
The most serious traffic violations will get six points against your license. Those include fleeing the scene of an accident that resulted in property damage as well as speeding that results in an accident.
If you get too many points against your license within three years, your license could be suspended for up to one year. The best thing to do is obey traffic laws and be safe behind the wheel.