Strong Criminal Defense Forged By
Over 20 Years Of Experience

How the Florida license point system works

On Behalf of | May 16, 2022 | Traffic Violations |

Many states use a license point system that assigns a point value to traffic infractions, usually one to six. Each infraction adds points to the license, and too many points can get a license suspended. Florida is a state that uses a license point system that covers several infractions.

Moving and nonmoving violations

Moving infractions are traffic violations committed when the vehicle is in operation, such as running a red light. A nonmoving violation occurs when the vehicle is not in operation, such as parking or expired tags. Speeding adds three points to the license, four points in excess of 15 mph, and adds six points if it causes a crash.

Some other three-point infractions include careless driving, violating child restraint laws, and driving too fast under certain conditions. Four-point violations include not yielding to pedestrians, reckless driving, school bus passing, and exceeding speed limits by 15 mph. Other six-point infractions include leaving an accident scene with property damage exceeding $50 and distracted driving, causing a crash.


A driver with 12 points on their license in 12 months faces a penalty of a 30-day license suspension. Accumulating 18 points in 18 months suspends the license for three months and 24 points in 36 months results in a one-year suspension.

If a driver commits more than 15 traffic infractions in five years, the license is commonly revoked. Some drivers may qualify for a hardship license, which allows them to drive, but only under certain conditions. To get a hardship license, drivers are required to submit proof of completing driver’s education and pay applicable fees.

Points commonly remain on a driving record for three years. Completing traffic school commonly reduces fines and may reduce points or keep them from being added.